Book Tour: Why I Loathe Sterling Lane by Ingrid Paulson

Hey, thanks for stopping by A Page in the Chapter to see my thoughts on Ingrid Paulson’s Why I Loather Sterling Lane.Why I Loathe Sterling Lane

 

I was sent this book via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

 

When I saw this title on Netgalley, the cover and title intrigued me. I wanted to know why Sterling Lane was loathed so much. I figured that he had to be a punk kid and was just a no-good POS. Boy, was I wrong.

 

The story starts off with reasons as to why Harper loathes Sterling. (I must say that I love that the chapter headers are the reasons why.) In the beginning of the book, we meet Harper and Sterling. Harper is a goody goody who does everything by the book and has a set of 350+ rules that she follows on a regular basis to get through high school and get into a good college.

 

Throughout the story, Harper uses her rules to try and keep herself on track, but once her twin brother starts to get into a little trouble, she starts to slowly break her rules. Harper is convinced that Sterling is the cause of her brother’s issues and she vows to take him down. As the story progresses, we see that Sterling and Harper’s relationship turns from hatred to a friendship full of pranks and jokes.

 

I loved this story so much. I became so invested in Harper and understanding her and why she has her rules, that my heart slowly started to break for her. I cheered every-time she broke a rule. As I read more about Sterling, I started rooting for him. I wanted him to get out of trouble and be the guy that we all knew he could be. He was smart and funny and a prankster, but he was also loving and sweet and was determined to stay where he was for as long as he could.

 

Why I Loathe Sterling Lane, reminded me a lot of Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster series, but more for the 14 to 18 age range. (Beautiful Disaster is a New Adult series, so please don’t read if you are under 18.) I imagined Harper as Abby (main character in Beautiful Disaster) in high school.

 

I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. This was such a cute story. Harper and Sterling are just the perfect high school ship. They stay true to themselves, but grow as teens.

 

This was an easy 5 out of 5 stars, A+ read for me! I will definitely read more from Ingrid Paulson and Entangled Teen.

 

Image result for entangled teen

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

