Welcome… Let’s chat about Books! 

Well hello there and welcome to A Page in the Chapter. I am Britt, your lovely blogger buddy. I am here to give you some insight on books that are popular, books that are not so popular and books that are just there and need to be talked about. 

As a little introduction, I am an avid reader. I read something every day, whether it be a full length novel, a novella, a short story and even just a poem. Reading is my passion. I get such joy from leaving my life in Pennsylvania to tour different mythical worlds, fantastical worlds or even just a beach in Florida. I truly believe that everyone has a story to tell and books help to bring those stories out in us.

 

So there is a little bit about me. Now let’s talk about what I want to really get into today, my thoughts on Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire. Now this book is only about 160 pages long, and when I heard about this, I thought it was so cool. A story about what happens to kids after they get back from mythical worlds, like Narnia or even like Jack and Molly from The Magic Treehouse series. I thought this was going to be so amazing. It was a very quick read. I will give Seanan that.

 

This book starts out with an introduction on the school that our main character is going to, Eleanor West’s School for Wayward Children. This school is where kids are sent who can’t cope with being home from places like Narnia, or Prythian (I just read ACOWAR, so Prythian is on my mind.) These kids want to be back in those places, but can’t find the doorway back and they may never find the doorway back. It all depends on if the place wants them back or not. We meet Nancy our main character. She found a doorway or rabbit hole to the underworld and wanted to stay there. Her “master” would only let her stay if she was sure. So he sent her home for her to make sure that she wanted to be there. I kind of got a little Hades and Persephone vibe.

 

Throughout the whole story we follow Nancy as she is trying to navigate through her life back home, and at this school. Her parents are trying to turn her back into the girl she was before she vanished. She doesn’t want to be that girl, she doesn’t want to wear the colorful clothes she use to, she wants to wear all black and stand like a statue like she did in the underworld.

 

During the story, there are some crazy murders that happen and you don’t find out the reason behind the murders until the end of course and I don’t want to spoil that for anyone.

 

I have to say that I was kind of underwhelmed with this story. It was a quick read and interesting, but I felt like there was so much more that could have happened had it been maybe 300 pages or more. I felt like everything was rushed and Nancy was only at the school for like a week before all of this crazy stuff started to happen. Then there was only maybe two days in between the first murder and then end of the book.

 

I gave this a C- rating. I gave it a 3 star rating on Goodreads, but it was more like 2.5 stars. I will read the next one in the series because I would like to see where it goes, but this story had the potential to be amazing and I feel like it is very much over hyped.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

